Showing Collections: 1 - 12 of 12
Alexander Brown Papers (II)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B86
Scope and Contents
Papers of Alexander Brown relating to the writings of his books, including notes, transcripts, drafts and correspondence with publisher Houghton, Mifflin & Co. and with members of his family requesting genealogical information. Collection includes letters of Benson J. Lossing concerning his "Pictorial Field Book of the Revolution"; and "Pictorial Field Book of the War of 1812"; and part of an agreement between the Mexican government and American capitalists drafted in the...
Dates:
1748-1900
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Campbell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents
The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Dates:
1743-1896
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Chappelear Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...
Dates:
1788-1959
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents
The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...
Dates:
1750-1991
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lee Nicholson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 N59
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1837-1938, of Lee Nicholson, a genealogist of Sussex County, Va. Includes correspondence, notes and charts concerning many Virginia families. Among them are the Batte family, Bolling family, Branch family, Briggs family, Chappell family, Heath family, Jones family, Land family, Mallory family, Mason family, Morton family, Neblett family, Nicholson family, Peebles family, Pegram family and Rives family.
Dates:
1827-1938
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Pace Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 P12
Scope and Contents
Genealogy material of the Pace Family of Virginia and other branches in the United States.
Dates:
1947-2006
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Strother Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.76
Scope and Contents
Four volumes of Strother family genealogy and one newsletter. Included are "Houses of Strother: Descendants of William Strother I, King George County, Virginia," Vols. I & II.
Dates:
1993-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Upshur Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 Up8
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1622-1936, of the Upshur family of the Eastern Shore of Virginia. Chiefly the genealogical correspondence and notes of Thomas Teackle Upshur (d. 1910) who was interested in the local history of Northampton and Accomack counties, Va. and in the genealogies of Eastern Shore families. Includes three manuscript volumes (indexed) called "Genealogies of the Kingdom of Accomack." The family papers of the Upshur family includes correspondence, 1786-1910, unpublished writings, accounts, and...
Dates:
1662-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John D. Weaver Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 77 W37
Scope and Contents
Collection contains genealogy of the Poulton Family, published stories, articles, book reviews, books, correspondence with family and friends and news clippings by and relating to John D. Weaver, author, novelist, biographer and West Coast editor of "Travel and Leisure Magazine".
Dates:
1906-1997
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William and Mary Quarterly Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/07/UA 64
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1988.001 consists of two boxes of correspondence arranged alphabetically. The correspondence is primarily about business aspects of publishing the Quarterly, but also includes genealogical information, editorial comments, some article manuscripts, a list of advertisers (1910-1913), and some fliers. Acc. 1988.113 consists of one box of correspondence between Earl G. Swem and various printers, authors, and others about the William and Mary Quarterly (2d Series)....
Dates:
1893-1944
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center